Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Sandaoguo
1. Have you previously held the position of administrator on a web forum? If so, when, how long, and for what software?

Yes, I have. I was an administrator for an online roleplaying community from 2007-2011ish. I still have admin access, but I'm no longer involved in the community. We used the phpBB forum software, but I also have experience with IP.Board, Vanilla, and the free online forums (Zetaboards, Invisionfree, etc).

2. Do you have knowledge of programming languages?

Yes, PHP. I'm self-taught, but I generally know what I'm doing.

3. Do you have experience with HTML, CSS, and or JavaScript?

Yes, I have extensive knowledge of all three.

4. Do you have knowledge of IP addresses?

Yes, I know what an IP address is and what kind of information one can glean from it.

5. Have you ever been a moderator on our forum or another NS forum? If so, have you had to moderate a difficult situation and what was the outcome?

I have never been a moderator here or any other NS-related forum. In my experience as an administrator, I dealt with a lot of difficult situations. It was a very close-knit community, but not everybody liked each other. The best thing to do, in my opinion, is to diffuse the situation by remaining level-headed and encouraging people to go towards a constructive conversation. However, I don't share the NS mod team's belief in the power of simply closing topics, since that doesn't actually solve the root problems.

6. What is the most important part of being an administrator on a forum?